Repertoire 2021

Monday & Tuesday

Round 1

Mozart, Haydn & Weber

The candidate chooses two of the three possibilities below.
Which of the candidate’s two choices he or she will perform and the performing order are decided by a ballot and provided to the candidate shortly before the performance. It may be an excerpt of the piece(s).
The candidate thus only plays one of the possibilities below.
Each candidate has 15 minutes with the orchestra. 
During the 15 minutes the candidate can rehearse with the orchestra.

1. W.A. Mozart: Don Giovanni (Neue Mozart Ausgabe/Bärenreiter)/Cosi fan tutte Overtures (Breitkopf & Härtel)

2. J. Haydn: Symphony No. 104 1. Movement (Haydn Mozart Presse)

3. C.M.v. Weber: Der Freischütz - Overture (Breitkopf & Härtel)

The two Mozart overtures are one choice – that means if the candidate chooses Mozart he or she could perform excerpts of both overtures.


Round 2

Brahms, Mahler & Nielsen

Each candidate will have 15 minutes with the orchestra.
The candidate prepare all three symphonies.
The candidate may rehearse with the orchestra.
The candidate can decide the order of performance.

C. Nielsen: Symphony No. 5  (Carl Nielsen Udgaven/Wilhelm Hansen - free download on the link below)

G. Mahler: Symphony No. 4 (Universal Edition)

J. Brahms: Symphony No. 3 (Breitkopf & Härtel)

On the day before the 2nd round, the exact excerpts will be announced to each of the candidates.


Round 3

Debussy, Stravinsky, Strauss, Byström & Sibelius

The 3rd round is divided into two parts: Morning and afternoon.

In the morning each candidate will have 20 minutes with the orchestra.

Britta Byström: New commission for the Malko Competition (app. 7 minutes) (Edition Wilhelm Hansen)
The candidate may rehearse with the orchestra. Duration of Britta Byström performance should be min. 5 min. and max. 12.30 min. The score will be provided on May 7 2021.

Without rehearsal the candidate will perform one of the following three pieces (by his/her own choice):

C. Debussy: Apres midi d’un faune (Breitkopf & Härtel)

I. Stravinsky: Firebird suite (Chester 1919)

R. Strauss: Till Eulenspiegel (Kalmus)

The candidate will be stopped after 20 min. performance incl. the commissioned piece.

In the afternoon each candidate will, without rehearsal, perform 
J. Sibelius: Violin Concerto - 1st mov. (KLHU) Soloist: Johannes Søe Hansen.
The candidate will have time to meet and talk with the soloist beforehand.



Tchaikovsky & Nielsen

Each candidate will rehearse with the orchestra in the morning.
In the evening each candidate will perform one of the following three pieces (as decided by ballot on June 10th 2021):
P. I. Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 4. 1st mov. (Breitkopf & Härtel)
P. I. Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5. 1st mov. (Breitkopf & Härtel)
P. I. Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6. 1st mov. (Breitkopf & Härtel)

In addition the candidate performs:
C. Nielsen: Maskarade - Overture (Edition Wilhelm Hansen - free download on the link below)